Cricket: ICC raises World Cup prize money

Cricket: ICC raises World Cup prize money

The winners will take home US$3.975 million, but if a team remains unbeaten that would rise to more than US$4 million. “A total of US$10 million, an increase of approximately 20 per cent over the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, will be available,” said the ICC.

The 2011 edition jointly hosted by India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka had prize money of US$8.01 million.

“Should a team at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 win the tournament without losing a match, it will receive total prize money of US$4,020,000, while a team that loses one match on the way to winning the tournament will receive US$3,975,000.”

The team which loses the Mar 29 final at Melbourne will pocket US$1.75 million while the two losing semi-finalists will each get US$600,000 each.

The four losing quarter-finalists will receive US$300,000 each while the winners of each group matches will get US$45,000 per match, the ICC said. All six teams eliminated from the first stage will get US$35,000 each.

The decision was taken at a two-day ICC Board meeting in Dubai while playing conditions were also finalised for the tenth edition of the World Cup, from Feb 14 to Mar 29

The ICC also announced that the Decision Review System (DRS) will be used in all 49 matches and that there would only be reserve days in the knock-out phase. It also added that there will be no super over in tied matches in the knock-out phase.

In case of a tied quarter-final and semi-final, the side finishing in the higher position in the group stage would progress. If the final is tied or if the match is a no-result, then the teams will be declared joint winners.

The ICC Board approved cut-off dates for qualification to the 2017 Champions Trophy and the 2019 World Cup. The top eight sides on the ICC one-day rankings on 30 Sep 2015 will qualify for the 2017 Champions Trophy in England.

The cut-off date for the 10-team 2019 World Cup, also in England, was set for 30 Sep 2017. The top eight ranked sides on that date will automatically qualify for the World Cup, while the ninth and 10th ranked teams will play in the World Cup qualifying competition in Bangladesh in 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.