Dr M, Anwar to lead Pakatan Harapan

Dr M, Anwar to lead Pakatan Harapan


After midnight decision, Pakatan Harapan announced its presidential council line-up and named Dr Mahathir Mohamad as the chairman of the pact.

Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismailhad been named as the federal Opposition leader meanwhile her husband, Anwar Ibrahim was symbolically made de facto leader, mirroring his position in PKR.

The lineup proposed by Mahathir’s Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) that was reported on June 9, with nominal changes and additions.

PPBM president Muhyiddin Yassin will be one of three deputy presidents along with DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng and Amanah president Mohamad Sabu.

Pakatan Harapan will also have four vice-presidents: PKR’s Mohamad Azmin Ali, PPBM’s Mukhriz Mahathir, DAP’s Chong Chieng Jen and Amanah’s Sallahuddin Ayub.

PKR’s Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah was named chief secretary and DAP’s Kulasegaran is the pact’s treasurer, consistent with the proposed line-up.

The pact also announced its common logo — the word “Harapan” in white on a red background, and with the central “A” shaped as a chevron — that will be used by all its candidates should Pakatan Harapan be registered in time for the general election.

Mahathir also said they will submit the new leadership line-up and logo to the Registrar of Societies for the formal application.

“We will register it as soon as possible, once we complete the details. We already have the structure. We will send it together with the logo,” the former prime minister said.

When asked if Anwar is the pact’s candidate to be prime minister, Mahathir only said they would work to secure his release and take it from there.