Mubarak Asks Government For Uniform Pensions, Retirement Benefits

Mubarak Asks Government For Uniform Pensions, Retirement Benefits

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 26 (Bernama) — The Malaysian Council of Former Elected Representatives (Mubarak) has today urged the government to consider uniform pensions and retirement benefits for former elected representatives.

Mubarak president Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Rahman said this was necessary because of the high cost of living and different pensions received by former elected representatives depending on whether they were former assemblymen of MPs.

“We want the pensions of elected representatives to be uniform throughout the country, both the State Assembly and Parliament levels, and they be given whatever increments that are provided,” he said.

Speaking to reporters at the 12th Annual General Assembly of Mubarak which was attended by 150 members from throughout the country here today, he also suggested that state assemblymen or MPs be given full pensions on the event of death or if Parliament is dissolved before their 72 months of service.

“They must be considered to have fulfilled the requirements of the law, which qualifies an individual to get full 50 per cent pension based on their latest salaries,” he said.

He also said Mubarak has also proposed that the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA) be discussed in Parliament and a special committee comprising economic and legal experts be set up to review the TPPA.

“The TPPA should be seriously evaluated and discussed in a Parliament session regardless of the background of the political parties because it affects the country’s sovereignty,” he said.

The TPPA discussions were concluded on Oct 5 in Atlanta, United States. The documents for ratification are expected to be ready by the end of the month, and Malaysia must decide no later than the first two weeks of 2016 whether to sign the agreement or not.

The TPPA was launched in 2005, involving 12 nations – Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, US and Vietnam.