Seven corner fight in Port Dickson by-election

Seven corner fight in Port Dickson by-election


PORT DICKSON: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is set to face six other contenders in his bid for the Port Dickson parliamentary seat on October 13, the Election Commission (EC) announced today.

At 11am, EC returning officer Khairy Maamor said eight nomination papers were submitted.

The EC, however, rejected independent candidate A. Rajendra’s nomination papers for his failure to fulfil one of the requirements involving his proposer’s registered address.

“After reviewing the nomination papers, I am satisfied with only seven candidates. One application is rejected for P 132 Port Dickson,” Khairy said at Majlis Perbandaran Port Dickson hall here today.

The confirmed candidates are Anwar, Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan, Lau Seck Yan, PAS’ Mohd Nazari Mokhtar, Tan Sri Isa Samad, Stevie Chan Keng Leong and Kan Chee Yuen.

Earlier, Anwar arrived at the Majlis Perbandaran Port Dickson flanked by thousands of supporters.