Kuala Kubu Baharu state by-election on May 11 – EC

Kuala Kubu Baharu state by-election on May 11 – EC

PUTRAJAYA,. The Election Commission (EC) has set polling day for the Kuala Kubu Baharu state by-election in Selangor on May 11.

EC chairman Tan Sri Abdul Ghani Salleh said the nomination day and early voting day are on April 27 and May 7 respectively.

He made the announcement at a media conference after chairing a special meeting at Menara SPR here today to discuss the important dates relating to the Kuala Kubu Baharu by-election.

The state seat fell vacant following the death of its incumbent, Lee Kee Hiong, on March 21.

Lee, 58, became the assemblyman for Kuala Kubu Baharu state constituency which is under the Hulu Selangor Parliamentary seat since 2013 passed away after battling cancer in the past few years.

Commenting further, Abdul Ghani said that overall, the Kuala Kubu Baharu by-election required an allocation of RM2.5 million.

According to him, a returning officer assisted by three assistant officers and 760 personnel will be appointed to handle the Kuala Kubu Baharu by-election.

According to Abdul Ghani, two election campaign enforcement teams were also established, comprising representatives of the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM), local authorities and contesting candidates to monitor campaign activities throughout the official campaigning period.

He said the campaign period is set for 14 days after the nomination of candidates on April 27 until 11.59 pm, May 10.

According to him, the electoral roll (DPPR) for the Kuala Kubu Baharu by-election has a total of 40,226 people consisting of 39,362 ordinary voters, 625 policemen, 238 military personnel and spouses and one overseas absentee voter.

The DPPR for the by-election will go on sale on April 22.

Abdul Ghani said the Nomination Centre (PPC) and the Official Vote Totaling Centre (PPRU) used for the Kuala Kubu Baharu by-election are the Hulu Selangor Multi-Purpose Hall and the District Sports Complex.

“A total of 18 regular polling stations containing 74 polling channels and two early voting centres with three early voting channels will be deployed,” he said.

Voters can check polling station information, voting channels and series number by visiting the portal at https://mysprsemak.spr.gov.my or contact EC Hotline at 03-8892 7018/7218/7124 or through the MySPR Semak application.

Review of voting information will be opened on April 22.


Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )