The Sultan of Kedah chaired the 257th Conference of Rulers Meeting

Sultan of Kedah Al Aminul Karim Sultan Sallehuddin Almarhum Sultan Badlishah (three, left) agrees to chair the 257th Conference of Rulers Meeting at Istana Negara today

KUALA LUMPUR: Kedah Sultan Al Aminul Karim Sultan Sallehuddin Sultan Badlishah, today chaired the 257th Conference of Rulers Meeting at Istana Negara here.

The meeting took place after the last time it was held during the 256th meeting on 19 and 20 Feb 2020 chaired by Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Shah.

Earlier, before chairing the meeting which started at 11am, Sultan Sallehuddin agreed to salute the Main Honor Guard (KKU) lined up by the First Battalion of the Royal Malay Regiment at Dataran Utama.

Sultan Sallehuddin then also agreed to plant the Rajah Kayu tree (Cassia Fistula) in the courtyard of Istana Negara as a symbol of the Sultan of Kedah chairing the Conference of Rulers Meeting this time.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah also agreed to witness the Tree Planting Ceremony.

KKU and the Tree Planting Council were the brainchild of Sultan Abdullah and were never held before His Majesty’s appointment as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

KKU was held for the first time at the 254th Conference of Rulers Meeting while the first Tree Planting Ceremony was held at the 255th meeting.

The two-day meeting starting today was also attended by all Malay Rulers except Kelantan, Pahang and Perlis.
The departed rulers were Sultan of Johor Sultan Ibrahim Iskandar; Sultan Nazrin Shah; Sultan of Terengganu Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin; Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah and Yang Dipertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan Tuanku Muhriz Almarhum Tuanku Munawir.

Meanwhile, Kelantan was represented by Tengku Mahkota Kelantan Tengku Dr Muhammad Faiz Petra Sultan Ismail Petra; Pahang was represented by the Regent of Pahang Tengku Hassanal Ibrahim Alam Shah Al-Sultan Abdullah and Perlis was represented by Tuanku Syed Faizuddin Putra Jamalullail.

The meeting was also attended by the Yang Dipertua Negeri of Penang, Melaka, Sabah and Sarawak.

At the meeting, the Malay Rulers were accompanied by their respective Menteri Besar while the Yang Dipertua Negeri was accompanied by the Chief Ministers except Sarawak who was accompanied by the Deputy Chief Minister.

-english translation -faizal

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )